1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer


The Department of Economics was established in 1922 with the commencement of Intermediate Classes. Bachelor Level Classes were initiated in 1925. In 1966, Masters Level Classes were introduced as Master of Arts (M.A.) in Economics with the strength of only six faculty members and 23 students in the first batch. Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Economics was initiated in the Department in 1999. The BS Economics (4-Year) program was offered by the Department of Economics in 2005. MS Economics (equivalent to M.Phil.) program has started since 2009.. Currently, Department of Economics has around 26 faculty members and more than 1500 students are getting benefit from their expertise. The Department of Economics is successfully running the following two Academic Programs

• BS Economics

• MS Economics

along with intermediate classes.

The basic aim of the department is to familiarize students not only with the economic aspects of the modern economy but also with the techniques that help them in empirical analysis of current economic issues and to create ability in them to make judgments regarding public policy. The graduates of the Department of Economics have joined popular careers in ranging from own businesses, banking sector, government departments & agencies, academic profession to research organizations.
The Faculty of Economics is keen to follow the teaching methods that encompass both theoretical and practical aspects. Lectures, presentations, written assignments, quizzes, tests, case studies and interactive class sessions are given due importance for professional development of the students.

The basic purpose of academic programs is to prepare the students as emerging economists. The department has also signed MoUs for research & development (R&D) with government agencies and various national and international universities. The salient features of these MoUs are to create research and cultural understanding among institutions through:

• exchange of research staff

• collaboration in research projects

• joint conferences, seminars, workshops and other related activities

• access to library facilities

• sharing academic data, publications and information

• other areas of mutual interests

The dedicated faculty who served as Head, Department of Economics over the span of more than 50-years includes the following:
• Prof. Mrs. Anwar-ul- Haq

• Prof.Mrs. Munawar Shah Muhammad

• Prof.Mrs. Shamas-un-Nisa Mahmood

• Prof.Mrs. Mahmooda Kalsoom Hamayun

• Prof.Mrs. Qamar Ahmed

• Prof. Mrs. Kahkshan Gohar

• Prof. Mrs. Riffat Saqlain

• Prof. Ms. Tallat Yazdani

• Prof. Dr. Maryam Wasif