Department of Physics


Physics is an existing intellectual adventure that inspires young people and expands the frontiers of our knowledge about nature. It generates fundamental knowledge needed for the future technological advances that will continue to drive the economic engines of the world. It contributes to the technological infrastructure and provides trained personnel needed to take advantage of scientific advances and discoveries. Physics is an important element in the education of chemists, engineers and computer scientists, as well as practitioners of the other physical and biomedical sciences. Physics extends and enhances our understanding of other disciplines, such as the earth, agricultural, chemical, biological, environmental science, astrophysics and cosmology subjects of substantial importance to all peoples of the world. It also improves our quality of life by providing the basic understanding necessary for developing new instrumentation and techniques for medical applications, such as CT scan, magnetic resonance imaging, positron emission tomography, ultrasonic imaging and laser surgery, nano medicine and drug delivery system.

The department of Physics was established in 1951. Mrs. Hajra Khan was the first head while Miss Naeema Mohsin, Mrs. Qaisra Shiraz Khan, Prof. Mrs. Yasmeen Ali and Prof. Rehana Zia were the other former heads of Physics department. Presently Prof. Dr. Zohra Nazir Kayani is head of Physics department. B.Sc classes were started in 1958 and later B.Sc (Hons) classes were conducted in the 1960’s. M.Sc program was started in 1966. Ph. D program has been successfully launched in 2003. Currently department enrolls students for 4 year BS (Physics) program, 2 year MS (Physics) and Ph. D program. Now Physics Department also started 4 years BS Self Supporting Program.