Department of Persian


The history of Persian Department is the history of Lahore College for Women University, Lahore. The Persian Department has a glorious past spanning of nine decades. In 1922 when Lahore College for Women was founded there were only few departments like Chemistry, English, Urdu, Philosophy, Physics, Economics, Political Science and one of these was the Persian Department.

The key factor behind the establishment of the Persian Department in Lahore College for Women was that the Persian language was the only official language of the sub – continent starting from Mahmud Ghaznavi’s period to the Mughal Era. In addition, seventy five percent of Urdu language is derived from Persian language. A great treasure of religious books is in Persian and many others have been translated in Persian language. These books are an authority in religious teachings too. Many rare manuscripts are also available in Persian literature.

The Department of Persian is one of the oldest departments of Lahore College for Women University, Lahore. The importance of this department has justified its existence in university and has contributed to its growth. The department has produced prominent scholars like Dr. Aarfa Sayeda, Ms. Kishwer Naheed and Ms. Shabnam Shakeel who have enhanced its stature and status. Prominent faculty members like Mrs. Q.A Chishti, Syeda Ashraf Bokhari, Mrs. Saeeda Chaudhry, Mrs. Mehboob Abid Ali, Mrs. Nafeesa Athar, Mrs. Saeeda Asif, Dr. Khalida Aftab, Dr. Zamurrad Salman and Mrs. Ra_a Shah have rendered their services in this department in the past.

The Persian Department is actively arranging and participating in various co – curricular activities within university and in other educational and cultural institutions. The co–curricular activities comprised essay writing competitions, poetry recitations, debates, declamation contests and Olympaid on Persian Language and Literature.