NEWS ARCHIVE - April 2024

All Pakistan Declamation Contest: Celebrating Shakespeare

24th April, 2024: English Debating Society LCWU, with its motto "Empowering Voices" organised All Pakistan Declamation Contest on the 24th of April, 2024. After five years, the APDC had a revival event, and students from different universities across Pakistan participated in it. Our distinguished guests included, The Vice Chancellor of Lahore Garrison University, Major General (r) Muhammad Khalil Dar. Syed Waqas Anjum Jafri, a renowned Philanthropist, Social Activist and Educationalist, and Hafiza Arhum Tariq Assistant Manager of Volunteer Management Department at Al khidmat foundation Pakistan also graced the occasion. 

At the All Pakistan Declamation Contest '24, which had both serious and humorous topics, there was a great deal of participation. The speakers from various universities utilised the platform to voice their intelligent insights as well as clever and witty comedic speeches. 

A highly experienced and distinguished panel of judges were part of the event, which included Mr. Siddique Awan with public speaking experience for over 40 years, Ms. Iqra Haris senior anchor and broadcast journalist, and Dr. Ambreen Javed Assistant Professor and public speaker.A vibrant student audience was also present to support our young speakers, along with teachers and faculty members. 

Thirty-one participants from different universities including UET, FMH, UCP, GCU, UVAS were present in teams and as individual speakers. After the debates, the students of music society engaged the audience in an entertaining performance and energized the audience once more. 

Dean of Islamic and Oriental Studies Syeda Faleeha Kazmi presented shields to the advisors, Miss Masooma Zaidi and Miss Samina Ayub, incharge Dr Ammara Iqbal,  and chairperson Department of English Dr Amara Khan, as well as President EDS LCWU Noor Fatima and General Secretary  Momina Chaudhary. 

Dr. Amara Khan thanked and appreciated the whole team of English Debating Society, LCWU and the students who stood victorious along with the other participants. And souvenirs were presented to the judges and distributed the awards to the winners.

The winners are as following; 

Individual speakers:

Aisha Sandhu, FMH, Best Serious Speaker

Sawleha Mobin, UET, Runner Up Serious Speaker

Abdur Rehman, UCP, Best Humorous Speaker

Ahmad Hassan, UVAS, Runner Up Humourous Speaker 

Orators from FMH University, Lahore bagged the Best Team Trophy of APDC '24.

* Muhammad bin Mudassir

* Mohammad Ahmad